Subscribe to our newsletter:

The Prophet - Audiobook in English and Chinese

iPhone / iPad
  • Lifestyle
  • Book
I want this app
Download from AppStore

Audio books in Chinese and English.
Author: Kahlil Gibran.

The Prophet is a book of 26 prose poetry essays written in English by the Lebanese artist, philosopher and writer Kahlil Gibran. It was originally published in 1923 by Alfred A. Knopf. It is Gibran's best known work. The Prophet has been translated into over 40 different languages and has never been out of print.

The prophet, Almustafa, has lived in the foreign city of Orphalese for 12 years and is about to board a ship which will carry him home. He is stopped by a group of people, with whom he discusses topics such as life and the human condition. The book is divided into chapters dealing with love, marriage, children, giving, eating and drinking, work, joy and sorrow, houses, clothes, buying and selling, crime and punishment, laws, freedom, reason and passion, pain, self-knowledge, teaching, friendship, talking, time, good and evil, prayer, pleasure, beauty, religion, and death.

1. The coming of the ship
2. On Love
3. On Marriage
4. On Children
5. On Giving
6. On Eating and Drinking
7. On Work
8. On Joy and Sorrow
9. On Houses
10. On Clothes
11. On Buying and Selling
12. On Crime and Punishment
13. On Law
14. On Freedom
15. On Reason and Passion
16. On Pain
17. On Self-Knowledge
18. On Teaching
19. On Friendship
20. On Talking
21. On Time
22. On Good and Evil
23. On Prayer
24. On Pleasure
25. On Beauty
26. On Religion
27. On Death
28. The Farewell