Subscribe to our newsletter:

Economy Code Glossary

iPhone / iPad
  • Business
  • Reference
I want this app
Download from AppStore

Economies CODE glossary
(World Bank version 18 July 2011)

This glossary classifies all World Bank member economies, and all other economies with populations of more than 30,000. For operational and analytical purposes, economies are
divided among income groups according to 2010 gross national income (GNI) per capita, calculated using the World Bank Atlas method. The groups are: low income, $1,005 or less;
lower middle income, $1,006–3,975; upper middle income, $3,976–12,275; and high income, $12,276 or more. Other analytical groups based on geographic regions are also used.

Geographic classifications and data reported for geographic regions are for low-income and middle-income economies only. Low-income and middle-income economies are
sometimes referred to as developing economies. The use of the term is convenient; it is not intended to imply that all economies in the group are experiencing similar development
or that other economies have reached a preferred or final stage of development. Classification by income does not necessarily reflect development status.

Lending category: IDA countries are those that had a per capita income in 2010 of less than $1,175 and lack the financial ability to borrow from IBRD. IDA loans are deeply
concessional—interest-free loans and grants for programs aimed at boosting economic growth and improving living conditions. IBRD loans are noncessional. Blend countries are
eligible for IDA loans because of their low per capita incomes but are also eligible for IBRD loans because they are financially creditworthy.

Note: Income classifications are in effect until 1 July 2012. August 2010 revision: Slovenia added to high income OECD. September 2010 revision: Israel added to high income OECD.
January 2011 revision: Estonia added to high income OECD and Euro area. 6 July 2011 revision: Lending status for Azerbaijan changed to IBRD; Marshall Islands and Micronesia,
Fed. Sts. to IDA; effective 1 July 2011. 18 July 2011 revision: Sri Lanka changed to Blend status.

Netherlands Antilles ceased to exist on 10 October 2010. Curaçao and Sint Maarten became countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba
became special municipalities of the Netherlands.