Subscribe to our newsletter:

British Literature Guide

iPhone / iPad
  • Reference
  • Education
I want this app
Download from AppStore

British Literature Guide is a comprehensive reference tool for anyone studying literature in high school or college. The British literary tradition is broken down into ten periods: Anglo-Saxon, Medieval, Renaissance, William Shakespeare, 17th Century, Romanticism, Victorian Era, Modernism, Postmodernism, and 20th Century. Each period is analyzed and explained from six different perspectives: literary attributes, major writers, musical influences, artistic influences, historical significance, and a comprehensive analysis of one period piece.

British Literature Guide is content rich with high-level instructional text, high-resolution images, and links to musical references. Students can explore the biographies and works of major authors within each time period, and by clicking "Analysis" students can see the attributes of each literary period in action as one piece of literature is fully analyzed, annotated, and explained:

1. "Doer's Lament" - Anonymous
2. Canterbury Tales " Prologue" - Geoffrey Chaucer
3. "Astrophel and Stella" - Philip Sidney
4. "My Mistress' Eyes" - William Shakespeare
5. "A Valediction: Forbidding Mourning" - John Donne
6. "Kubla Khan" - Samuel Taylor Coleridge
7. "Ulysses" - Alfred, Lord Tennyson
8. "The Second Coming" - William Butler Yeats
9. "Midnight's Children" - Salman Rushdie
10. "Saturday" - Ian McEwan

British Literature Guide was developed by a college English professor and is appropriate for all levels from secondary through graduate-level academics. This universal app is suitable for classroom projection.